England, Britain, and the United Kingdom

A member of Sherlockian in England holding a "Sherlock Lives" sign


Victorian England, particularly London, is a colorful backdrop for the characters and goings-on in Arthur Conan Doyle’s 60 original stories about Sherlock Holmes. The city was, and still is, home to people from around the world and all walks of life. England, Scotland, and Wales make up Great Britain; and with the addition of Northern Ireland, these countries together are called the United Kingdom. In Victorian times, the British Empire also included Canada, Australia, India, and a number of other countries around the globe—so it was said that “the sun never sets on the British Empire.” Learn more about the setting of the Sherlock Holmes stories by visiting the links below.